Being involved in a car accident is a devastating experience that can impact you for a long time. Following an accident, whether you sustained injuries or not, there’s a substantial amount of work to be done to get your life back on track. With so much to do, it’s challenging to know what the right thing to do is. To help you understand the basics, it’s important to know the answer to one of the most common questions we receive following car accidents; “Do I have to talk to the other driver’s insurance company?”
The simple and straightforward answer to that question is “No.” Following a car accident, you are not and never will be required to talk to the other driver’s insurance company. That doesn’t mean, however, that they won’t attempt to contact you.
How to Respond to the Other Insurance Company Calling
If your phone happens to ring and it’s the other driver’s insurance company, the first thing to remember is that you’re not required to provide them with any information. Many insurance companies will call the other party involved in the accident in an attempt to ask questions and gain information to prove the accident was not the fault of their client. You do not need to provide any answers to these questions, and if you do decide to talk with them, try to only provide basic information such as:
- Time and date of the accident
- Your name
- Your insurance information
- The number of the accident report
Any other information you provide them with, aside from basic accident information, can give the other driver’s insurance company fuel to prove you were at fault for the accident. These are known as bad faith insurance tactics. The best thing to do if the other driver’s insurance company calls you is to not answer any questions and put them in contact with the adjuster from your insurance company. Your adjuster understands the intricacies of insurance and will be able to provide them with the necessary details and information without compromising your claim.
What You Should Do After An Auto Accident
Following an accident, best practice is always to contact authorities and file an accident report. Whether your accident is major or minor, an accident report creates a legal and official document outlining the details of the accident and many times, who was at fault.
A full accident report will include the following information:
- Name, address, driver’s license or permit number of drivers involved
- All relevant insurance information for any drivers involved
- Registration numbers and license plate numbers of any vehicles involved or damaged
- As much information about the accident as possible, including weather and road conditions, time of day, location and other information
It’s necessary to note that in the State of Louisiana, you’re required by law to file an accident report if the accident results in:
- Property Damage over $500
The report must also be forwarded to the Louisiana DPSC within 24 hours if the accident results in any of the above, or property damage over $100.
Why Call Your Insurance Company After an Accident?
In addition to filling an accident report, you should always call and inform your own insurance company of an accident within 24 hours of the event. Doing so will help to keep you ahead of the other insurance company and also give you a head-start on filling your claim.
When discussing an accident with your own insurance company, you should provide all of the necessary accident information as outlined on the police report and answer any other questions they ask you. Remember, your own insurance company will attempt to assist you in the case of an accident and attempt to gather information to put them (and you) in the most financially advantageous position possible.
Experienced Car Accident Legal Representation Can Help
If you have been involved in a car accident and are having difficulty navigating the claims process, the assistance of a lawyer with experience representing car accident victims can help. The attorneys at E. Orum Young have more than 35 years of experience and work hard to serve their clients and get the maximum compensation for their claims.
Call our offices today at 318-450-6453 or go online to schedule your free case review!