Every state has its own unique laws, and no one wants flashing blue lights in their rearview to be their first introduction to Louisiana’s Traffic laws. Whether you’re driving in Louisiana as a resident, tourist, or just passing through on a road trip, these laws are meant to keep you safe. Here are a few details you need to know about Louisiana’s traffic laws before hitting the road.
Move Over Rule
When approaching an emergency vehicle that is stationary and using visual or audible emergency signals, they always have the right of way. Once the traffic flow allows, you are required to move over a lane or reduce to a reasonable speed of about 20 mph under the posted speed limit.
Phone Calls and Text Messaging
All drivers are banned from texting while driving, except for emergency purposes. Drivers under age 17 are not permitted to use a cellphone or any other wireless device while driving unless it is an emergency. Incidents that are considered to be an emergency would be experiencing a medical emergency or being involved in an accident. When sending an emergency text or making a call, safely park your vehicle. If you are in an accident while violating the phone calls and text messaging rule, fines can be doubled.
Louisiana Motorcycle and Bicycle Laws
Louisiana motorcycle laws apply to motorcycles, motorized bicycles, and all other motor-driven cycles. The law requires riders to wear a helmet with proper lining, padding, and a visor. The helmet should be the appropriate fit for your head with a well-fitted chin strap.
Passengers and riders under 12 years old are also required to wear a bicycle helmet. Children have a greater risk of bike-related head injuries since they have a less developed perception of risks. Though there are no mandatory bicycle helmet rules for other ages, it is usually encouraged to still wear one for your safety.
Driving Under the Influence
By operating a vehicle on a public Louisiana highway, you are giving consent for your breath, blood, and urine to be tested for the presence of alcohol or other controlled substance if suspected of DUI. Refusing to cooperate with authorities to do these tests after an arrest is a crime with penalties equal to being charged with driving while intoxicated.
The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in Louisiana is .08% for drivers over 21 and 0.02 for drivers under 21.
No Headphones While Driving
Louisiana forbids the use of any listening device that is not a hearing aid for all drivers. Law enforcement is primarily exempted from this law, and drivers using special motorcycle helmets. When listening to music and talking wireless, we recommend using your speakers to avoid a hefty traffic citation.
Need More Help Understanding Traffic Laws in Louisiana?
To be on the right side of the law, you must be diligent to gain knowledge on your Louisiana’s traffic laws. Those who drive negligently may instigate a car accident. If you have suffered an injury in a car accident, our car accident attorneys at E. Orum Young Law Offices can provide you with professional legal counsel.
Our team of attorneys has over 35 years of experience fighting for victims to receive fair compensation. and are ready to provide you with the assistance you need. Contact us today at 318-450-6453 and start your free case evaluation. Our Trial Guarantee means we will take your case to trial per your request.