Hitting the road on an out-of-state adventure is fun and exciting. There are so many stops to make, places to see, and people to meet. There’s also a lot of planning to do. You have to decide where to stay, where to eat, and what you’re going to do along the way. With so much excitement, likely the last thing on your mind is your car insurance and whether you’re covered if you get in an out-of-state car accident.
How to Understand Louisiana’s Car Insurance Policies
The state of Louisiana is a fault-based state. Meaning, if you’re involved in a car accident, the at-fault party is liable for the damages. No matter wherever you travel, however, your insurance policy should cover you when you cross state lines as long as you’re carrying the state minimum requirements.
In Louisiana, every driver is required to carry insurance in the limits of 15/30/25 or:
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death of a single person (the driver of the other vehicle)
- $30,000 for total bodily injury or death (the driver of the other vehicle and their passengers)
- $25,000 for property damage caused by you
These limits of liability will help pay for the medical bills of the people in the other car if you’re found at fault. Likewise, they will help cover the cost of damages to the other vehicle or personal property if you’re at fault.
If you want your insurance to cover the cost of your medical bills and the damage to your vehicle in an out of state car accident, you’ll need to carry comprehensive and collision coverage on your insurance policy.
Can I Sue the Other Party in an Out of State Car Accident?
In the event that the other party is found at fault in an out of state car accident, they’re liable for the damages to your person and your vehicle. If the other person does not have insurance or their insurance is not enough to cover the cost of your bills, you have a right to seek a settlement.
The most common reasons car accident victims pursue personal injury claims include:
- Medical bills
- Rehabilitation costs
- Lost wages
- Future loss of wages
- Pain and suffering
The only time when it’s more difficult to file a lawsuit against the other party is when you’re involved in an accident in a no-fault state. In this case, you first need to file a claim with your own insurance company before you can seek a settlement from the other party.
Turn to Experienced Car Accident Attorneys in Louisiana
There’s nothing worse than experiencing a car accident, but it can be even worse when you’re out of state and away from your home. If you get in a car accident in Louisiana, you can trust the attorneys at E. Orum Young Law to assist you.
They are award-winning attorneys who have won thousands of car accident cases across the state. Schedule a free consultation with our attorneys today. Call 318-450-6453 or contact us online.